Beyond the Wood Series: American Civil War Novels

Beyond the Wood Series: Civil War Novels 

Book One: Beyond the Wood, Award-Winning Historical Adventure and Romance

Intrigue, love and treachery . . . amid a small Southern Rebellion

Romance has faded, and shame weakened resolve. Mystery has shrouded the truth, and pride matured into a world enveloped by rage and war. The only constant is betrayal—and at times he is your sole companion. Yet, hope lingers . . .

Praise for Beyond the Wood

War, romance and mystery collide in this deeply researched Civil War novel . . . .

A tale of personal intrigue and a unique brand of romance, recommended. . . . A fine addition to historical fiction collections.

An interesting and different Civil War novel.

Roueche tells the struggles of two individuals separated by past mistakes as well as two armies at war. This is a story of betrayal and hardships, but also one of forgiveness, perseverance, and love. Hank a Union solder promises a dying Confederate officer that he will hand deliver a letter written to his wife. The wife lives in Virginia, behind enemy lines, the state Hank had called home until shortly before the war. In detailing Hank’s adventures in Virginia as well as that of the Widow Henderson, Roueche demonstrates the difficulty families had who lived in the Border States. Families were often torn apart as brothers fought on opposite sides, they had to struggle with their own ideas of loyalty to the old nation they loved and the new one they now found themselves in, bands of deserters and criminals looking to take advantage of the chaos, and lastly the problem of two armies in close proximity. Throughout the story, Roueche gives an accurate and intriguing glimpse into the soldier’s life, from the excitement to “see the elephant” to the boredom of camp, to loss soldiers felt as comrades died. Roueche captures the Civil War in a well-told exciting adventure and romance.


Reviews from Goodreads

A River Divides, Book Two of the Beyond the Wood Series, Civil War Novels

Book Two: A River Divides, 2014 Laramie Fiction Award Drama Category Winner

The widow faces new challenges that grow rapidly from Beyond the Wood’s last scene. And while the Eastern war machine slows for the winter, the swirl of conspiracy, treachery and mystery accelerates.

In Kentucky–one of two states where slavery was abolished only by the ratification of the 13th amendment–slaves, freed slaves, abolitionists and slavery’s supporters mingle in foreboding uncertainty.

Oh, and did we mention there’s more romance.

Praise for A River Divides

A sober, thoughtful, and expertly researched Civil War novel. Highly recommended.

If you’re interested in finding out more about some of the “real” people and dog who appear in the book, visit our Civil War Stories page.

Reviews from Goodreads

Tempting Skies Civil War Novels

Book Three: Tempting Skies

Four decades after the war ends, a former slave passes away. Among her belongings, her bereft family finds a narrative she’s written of the suffering of the summer of 1864, capturing the fury, hope, sorrow, dread, love and hate infused in the lives that intersected hers. In Tempting Skies, she chronicles the end of the journey that began Beyond the Wood.

Tempting Skies is now available in trade paperback and ebook.

Praise for Tempting Skies

This concluding volume of a truly outstanding Civil War era trilogy…is as extraordinary and consistently entertaining a read as his first two novels. … Highly recommended

  • The US Review of Books, which reviews small and large publisher books, gave the book its “Recommended” rating, “used less than 10-20% of the time.” US Review indicates recommended books of fiction “are compelling and lasting reads.” Dylan Ward of US Review wrote of Tempting Skies,”

Roueche’s third installment in the Beyond the Wood Series completes a well-researched and interwoven narrative of the American Civil War. It once again demonstrates the award-winning author’s notable contribution to the genre. His novel, while at times complex, is nevertheless engaging and nothing is wasted. It boasts a large cast of characters who are all essential to the whole of the saga. Their strengths and weaknesses are portrayed in realistic light, each facing their own past in moments of trial and tribulation. As the novel nears its finale, surprising revelations encapsulate a tale of drama, romance, and suspense. Through it all, Roueche expertly highlights the plight of soldiers, discrimination, politics, and violence set against the backdrop of the waning days of a war-torn America. It is a worthy read.

Tempting Skies is a brilliant novel revealing the day-to-day, unglamorous existence during the Civil War. . . . Roueche is a masterful storyteller creating a Civil War masterpiece. . . .


Reviews from Goodreads